Chips and Guac

what S.A. Barnes’ novel Dead Silence did to me

Seymour Toa
4 min readMay 12, 2022

--

audiobook cover of Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes, a ghost ship, a salvage crew, unspeakable horrors.
screenshot-audiobook cover of Dead Silence by S.A. Barnes- a ghost ship, a salvage crew, unspeakable horrors

All last night I kept thinking about it. So why not? I jumped right back into listening to S.A. Barnes’ ‘Dead Silence’ today on my four hour drive to Cincinnati. Yeah I know. I should get back to my nonfiction studies but this horror story of hers is simply, addictive. I hit play on my Bluetooth and turn up my car stereo.

Immediately hooks tear into my flesh as the various stressors are tugged by the plot lines of the lead protagonist fleeing for her life. I sank back in my driver seat as the dread of the characters had me double checking my mirrors, haunting visions abound. I white-knuckled the steering wheel a little too tight as the atmospheric settings just keep getting darker, bleaker, and bloodier.

I arrived at my destination in no time it seemed. A bit too fast perhaps. Stomach grumbling and shaky as I turn off the highway squinting not from the setting blood orange sun in my eyes but the gore fest on that cursed space ship described by the narrator.

I decided to grab a quick burrito and chips with quac before checking into my room. That way, I can just pop on my headphones and keep listening to her story as I eat alone in my room. The hooks were set deep. I was nearing the end and fiended closure. There was a cat and mouse chase through the dark ship while…

--

--

Seymour Toa

creative writer photographer | psychology parenting humanity | nature urbex minutia | esoteric dark cynic | experimental fiction positivity | SeymourToa.com